A Feeling

image

This poem was written in February 2011 and is one of the only poems I’ve written in (roughly) free verse.

It’s a feeling
inside me;
Intuition –
You can’t see.

But I feel it;
It controls me –
This feeling
In me.

It’s abstract;
It’s in the air;
It’s the unseen –
But it’s there!

It’s an instinct –
Intangible;
I can’t believe it;
It’s incredible.

How do I tell you?
What can I say?
It’s hard to divine
Why I feel this way.

But it’s floating, floating;
I feel it near;
My heart tells me
It’s here! It’s here!

Just a feeling;
Just abstract;
Just intangible;
Just an instinct;
Just my intuition;
It’s crazy, I know.
But it’s true.

I feel it;
It’s near.
I feel it;
It’s here!

It’s just a feeling I feel,
But it’s real.

5 thoughts on “A Feeling

  1. This is odd, but your poem reminds me of the ALW musical /Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat/. There’s a line where the narrator says, “if you think it, want it, dream it, then it’s real; you are what you feel” and that’s one of the feelings I got from this poem. Just something that is there and you can’t explain it, but it’s still the most real thing you’ve ever felt.

    Like

  2. I looove this. I know, like, nothing about poetry, so I’ll keep my unintelligent thoughts to myself BUT I LIKE THE FLOW.

    Like

Leave a Reply

