Books and Candy

image

Another food/book tag, this time from Musings From Neville’s Navel.

1. Apples
Ah, healthy food. It is deep, meaningful, and probably won a lot of awards but, um, it isn’t really your thing.

The Bell Jar, by Sylvia Plath is a definitely a well written book but, as well as being depressing, I couldn’t relate to it and it didn’t touch me in any lasting way.

2. Milk Chocolate
This is a book that you’d recommend to absolutely EVERYONE.

I wouldn’t usually recommend a book to EVERYONE. Everyone is so different! But if I had to choose, I’d go with The Book Thief because it’s one of my favorite books that isn’t a thousand pages long. If you like books more action packed, try The Scarlet Pimpernel.

3. Black Jellybeans
Why do these exist?

Oh, gosh. I don’t want to be mean. But honestly, Danielle Steel’s 44 Charles Street read like a first or second draft. It needs some major revision.

4. Chocolate Kisses
Aw, this novel had the best romance.

The Scarlet Pimpernel.Β Percy and Marguerite’s relationship is beautiful, the way they learned to understand each other and fell in love a second time.

5. Gummy spiders
Eek! You made sure to check under your bed every night for a week after reading this scary one.

And Then There Were None is rather unsettling. It’s not so scary like the description above, though. Now, Sherlock Holmes’ mystery The Adventure of the Speckled Band did give me a couple nervous nights after reading it, as did The Valley of Fear. I was about twelve, then.

6. Jumbo Lollipop
This took you forever to get through but hey! You did it!

Victor Hugo’s Les Miserables is 1000+ pages with small print and it includes, infamously, a chapter all about the sewers of Paris. But I read it and it was totally worth it.

7. Cotton candy
Admit it: You loved this when you were younger. (You probably still do) Think: children’s or MG fiction.

I loved Black Beauty, both when I read it at eight years old and when I retread it at thirteen. I’ve always loved horses.

 

What are your gummy spiders? Feel free to do this tag on your own blog!

10 thoughts on “Books and Candy

  1. Ooh, this is awesome! I remember “And Then There Were None” being a little scary, but I loved it anyway! I would say “The Giver” is my favorite gummy spider. Societal fear always gets to me.

    Like

  2. Oooh, I love the Scarlet Pimpernel books! I’ve read Les Miserables too, and man! It seemed really long at the time (I was 12 1/2 when I read it) πŸ™‚
    I read And Then There Were None before I went to bed one night. And guess what? I had to stop about halfway-75% in. πŸ˜› It was HORRIBLE. Like, my eyelids were glued open. I didn’t get any sleep that. πŸ˜‰

    Like

Leave a Reply

