The Heroine Book Tag

I was thinking, I probably haven’t read enough books to be doing all these tags. But then, I thought, I’m only going to get busier in future, when I get a job and go to college and publish books and do other such adultish things. So now’s as good a time as any to do all the tags.

I found this one over at Musings From Neville’s Navel (which you should check out if you haven’t already cause Engie is seriously awesome).

Which heroine would you trade places with?

imageThis was probably the hardest question. I’m going to go with Annabeth Chase (Percy Jackson and the Olympians and Heroes of Olympus). Why? Because I’d love to see Greek mythology come to life. Centaurs! Dryads! Argus! How could I pass up the opportunity to stay at Camp Half Blood, even if it is dangerous? And Percy is cool. 🙂

Which heroine would you push off a cliff while hoping that there are some jagged rocks at the bottom?

I’ve never wanted to do that to any heroine and I sure hope I never do. But okay. Let’s talk about heroines I didn’t like so much, cliffs aside. Hazel Grace Lancaster from The Fault in Our Stars was okay and I understand she was going through a lot. But I still think she was terrible to her parents.

Also, I didn’t really like Piper from The Lost Hero, because she was boring (for a POV character, at least), a Mary Sue, and overly dramatic for my liking.

A heroine you couldn’t care less about? (They’re so bland that they don’t even trigger the hate in you.)

I found Mara from Messenger of Fear a bland character. I can’t blame her though; she does have amnesia.

A heroine you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up liking, and vice versa?

This one’s hard because I don’t usually go into books expecting I will like or dislike someone. I suppose this could count: I didn’t use to like Annabeth. Over time, she grew on me, but I still didn’t care much for her, until The Lost Hero when she appeared and I was thinking, “Why can’t she be in this story more? (sigh)”

A side heroine who is much more interesting than the main heroine?

I’m not sure she counts as a heroine but I am interested in Johanna Mason’s (The Hunger Games) story. I came to love Katniss, but we already know everything in her head. Johanna is spunky and sarcastic and deeply hurt and she gets little airtime in the trilogy.

Which heroine would you want as your friend?

I want to be friends with all the heroines from The Lunar Chronicles.

Image credit to Lierymell on DeviantArt
Image credit to Lierymell on DeviantArt

Cinder and I can commiserate with each other over our cargo pants and messy hair. Cress and I can pretend to be famous actresses and fan girl over Thorne. Haha. Just kidding. But seriously, they are all awesome people and it would be a blast.

Which heroine do you wish would just CHOOSE between the guys/girls in her little love triangle?

Celaena Sardothien from Throne of Glass. Right now, as I’ve only read book one, it’s okay. But there are going to be SIX books! Please don’t tell me she’ll be going back and forth between guys for all of them. I don’t mind love triangles, but I prefer them in small doses. So, Celaena, please make up your mind at the earliest opportunity. Preferably book two. Hint: You might want to choose Chaol. You’re welcome.

A “bad girl” heroine?

I was gonna say Celaena but I’m trying to mix things up so I’m going to go for Cadence Sinclair Eastman (We Were Liars). I know a lot of people dislike her for being boring or whiny or selfish. I totally understand that. She’s not your typical heroine – she’s a drug addict, she’s selfish, and who knows what else. I’m not sure I really like her but I think she’s fascinating.

A “good girl” heroine?

Shaylinn from Jill Williamson’s Safe Lands series.

Your favorite heroine of them all? (If you can’t choose, pick your top three.)

I would have been stumped by such a question but I recently finished The Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy and I love Liraz. I love her fire and fury and her heart under it all. I’ve said it before how hard I find it to relate to female characters, but that was never the case with her. 🙂 Of course, maybe it’s a little troubling that I relate to an embittered soldier who marks her kills on her fingers …

***

Who is one heroine you love?

2 thoughts on “The Heroine Book Tag

  1. These sound like great heroines, though I only recognize Annabeth and the ladies from the Lunar Chronicles (gotta love Thorne, too, by the way. He’s so lovely.) If I had to pick a couple great heroines, I’d say Alina from the Grisha Trilogy or Elvie from the Ever-Expanding Universe Trilogy. They’re both great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

