Authorly Bucket List Tag

2015/01/img_0479.gif

Erin at The Upstairs Archives nominated me for the Authorly Bucket List Tag. I’ll copy her description of this tag, since she started it. 🙂

Basically, the idea is to list a few (authorly) things you’re not very good at, and a few things which you’d like to try. Three to seven of each should be a good number. 

Things I’m Not Very Good At (oh, boy. Where to start?)

1. Pacing. Probably my problem Número Uno. I make things happen way to quickly. There’s no time to get invested in the characters. No time to do anything but say, “woah.” (I’m getting better, though. I think.)

2. Any genre except spec fic. That’s not to say I’m good at writing speculative fiction. But I’d say I’m best at it. My contemporaries are always very boring, even if I love my premises. My historicals are either terribly inaccurate or could take place in any place or time, what with the absence of description. I just don’t have the motivation to research properly.

3. Giving my characters a rounded diet. I got the inspiration for this answer from Erin, who says her character eat mostly soup. My characters … let’s see. They eat bread. One man ate cookies and two boys had hardtack.

4. Showing. You know the phrase “show, don’t tell”? That’s probably my biggest problem after pacing.

5. Romance. This is probably related to 1 & 4. Definitely 1. And then, I don’t show the growing love enough. At the same time, I don’t want to tell it, so it ends up coming out of nowhere. Basically, I don’t get the sparks. Sad.

6. First person POV. It just doesn’t work for me. It’s too close, too boxed in, too informal.

Things I Want to Try

1. A full on romance novel. Because … why not? I imagine it’d be contemporary but it doesn’t have to be. I like to read romance and I think it’d be fun to immerse myself in my own couple creation. (On a sidenote, almost all my favourite couples are side characters. Does that mean I prefer more subtle, less in-your-face romance?)

2. My Writing Wishlist has some more specific books that I want to write.

3. Poetical writing. I love authors like Markus Zusak and Laini Taylor with their beautiful writing styles and I’d like to write something like that one day.

4. An unreliable narrator. I’ll shock and twist my readers’ minds – mwa ha ha ha!

5. A character who looks like the man in the above picture. (I’m just adding this point because I’ve been wanting to use this pic for a long time. It’s how I imagine young Edmond Dantes. :))

***

What’s your favorite POV to write (first person, third person limited, etc.)?

6 thoughts on “Authorly Bucket List Tag

  1. Ooh, I like this. I would like to do this one too. *nods*
    *plans deviously to steal it*
    I love writing in 1st….I’ve written SO MANY BOOKS in 1st, but then I wrote in 3rd and I really really enjoyed it. So I don’t know which direction to go! Both maybe?!

    Like

  2. I so wish I could write poetically. Luckily, I think it’s something that writers can learn to do, so I think I’m going to really focus on making my prose lyrical. I also really want to write an unreliable narrator someday. Maybe with a mystery or thriller? Hmm…I don’t know which POV I like to write more. I’m still experimenting.

    Like

  3. Love the comment about diet. I think a few authors should pay more attention to that. I remember when I was reading one particular series and I kept thinking that the main character ate an awful lot of eggs…

    Like

Leave a Reply

