Beautiful People #5 (Author Edition)

image

This month’s Beautiful People is about authors! Which means I’m going to be talking about … yes. Me. Brace yourselves.

1. How many years have you been writing? When did you officially consider yourself a ‘writer’?

I’ve written ever since I learned my letters, I think, but my first “novel” (I mean, I thought it was long enough at the time) I wrote at eleven. At the time, it was always “When I’m older, I want to be a writer.” When I was 15, I realised, “Why not call myself a writer now? After all, I write. Writers are people who write. I = writer.”

2. How/why did you start writing?

I’ve always had stories to tell, but it was my sister who inspired me to write them down. When I was eleven and she fifteen, she sat down to write a novel and I thought it looked fun. Five years later, I’m still writing. She is, sadly, not, but she still tells me her stories sometimes and they’re pretty awesome.

3. What’s your favorite part of writing?

I love being able to translate the stories in my head into something concrete. I love just spending time with my characters. But most of all, I love how they take over the story, having their own conversations and their own goals, often separate from what I imagined. When they grow a mind of their own … that’s the amazing part.

4. What’s your biggest writing struggle?

Procrastination. Always procrastination.

After that, it’s that I struggle to match my writing to the vision in my head. It always falls short. I guess it means I have to work harder at it and that means perseverance is another of my struggles.

Pacing is another of my problems. I make things happen way too quickly.

5. Do you write best at night or day?

I’m not allowed to stay up late but I do prefer to write in the evening (7-9 PM) or the early morning (5-8AM), because there’s less going on, making it easier to concentrate, and dimness helps me get into the writing mood.

6. What does your writing space look like? (Feel free to show us pictures!)

I either write at the computer desk or on my bed. Picture below. Feast your eyes.

Yeah ... the sheets are pretty wrinkled ...
Yeah … the sheets are pretty wrinkled …

7. How long does it typically take you to write a complete draft?

It depends how much I procrastinate or if I’ve got a deadline. I’d say, one month, because I do work best with a closer deadline, and NaNoWriMo is always good encouragement.

8. How many projects do you work on at once?

I usually just work on one. I need to really be immersed in my world/characters to write my novels so writing a few novels at once makes me feel split. Usually, I’ll be more invested in one and the other will suffer.

9. Do you prefer writing happy endings, sad ones, or somewhere in between?

Somewhere in between. I love a good cry and sad endings always touch me in a way happy endings can’t. At the same time, I don’t want to write something completely hopeless. I believe there’s always hope.

10. List a few authors who’ve influenced your writing journey.

Reading Louisa May Alcott and Lucy Maud Montgomery got me into writing historical “domestic” fiction (I was about 11-14) at this time. I also wrote more action oriented historical (like, war and stuff), inspired, I think, by all those American history books I was reading.

J. R. R. Tolkien (more specifically, The Lord of the Rings) gave me a massive book hangover and inspired me to write fantasy. Thus began a fantasy phase that continues to today. The beginnings of my novel Grey Wars date back to that time.

11. Do you let people read your writing? Why or why not?

Rarely, because my writing almost never matches up to my vision. I want to be sure if people read my writing, it’s the best I can make it.

12. What’s your ultimate writing goal or dream?

I want to write a book that matches the vision in my head. If I can do that, I will be … overjoyed. More than that. It’s definitely my writing dream.

(I would like to get traditionally published and have someone fall in love with my book. But that’s all secondary.)

13. If you didn’t write, what would you want to do?

Ha! If I didn’t write, I’d have a lot of extra time. I would 1. meet people (I’m very extroverted, if shy) 2. play, sing, and write music (am I still allowed to write music?) 3. practice the drums and the piano 4. study debate 5. read (of course)

I try to do these things anyway.

14. Do you have a book you’d like to write one day but don’t feel you’re ready to attempt it yet?

Definitely. There’s the story of my heart (see below). Also I want to someday write about people who are cursed to be unable to sense anyone else. It’d be interesting because everyone would have to try and break the curse by his/herself. The reason I’m not writing it? I have no idea how to break the curse.

15. Which story has your heart and won’t let go?

Definitely Grey Wars. I formed the idea when I was thirteen and have been working on it on and off ever since. It won’t go away. It won’t stop pestering me. I love it so much. If I could only choose one novel to write, this would be it, even though I’m currently so overwhelmed by the plot holes, I’ve put it on hold. I feel like it’s worth my time. It’s worth the blood, sweat, and tears. But it’s not really about being worth it. It’s that I never fail to find joy in writing this story. I still love spending time with these characters, even after all these months. It might not be a great story but it, or more specifically, the characters have my heart.

I might not even ever publish it. It might be a little too close to my heart for me to send it out into the world. But I’ll never stop chiseling away at it. I’ll never stop going on adventures with my characters.

***

Are you taking part in Beautiful People (Authors Edition)? Share your link in the comments! And what story has your heart?

13 thoughts on “Beautiful People #5 (Author Edition)

  1. This is a super cool writing story! I especially like your “plans for life if you weren’t a writer,” and also understand about not letting people read your writing. It is SUPER hard, I know, and definitely something I need more practice at. *sigh* Oh well, at least we’re not lonely learners. 🙂

    Like

  2. My journey to writing my first novel was much like yours. I had always wanted to be a part time novelist when I grew up, but I thought writers were mystical beings that somehow were able to write whole books. Then I read The School Story by Andrew Clements and I realized that I could write a novel, too! I would love to write a book that perfectly matches the vision in my head as well. It’s so difficult, and I have yet to accomplish that, but I’m trying.

    Like

  3. YES TO PACING! I make things happen either wayy to quickly (wait, wasn’t that an important plot point back there? shouldn’t we spend more time on that?), or I take FOREVER to get around to it (guys, get out of the library, why are we even here?)!

    I LOVE the sound of your curse book!!! That would be SO INTERESTING!! :O 😀

    Like

    1. It’s sooo hard to strike a balance, isn’t it? Oh, the joys of being an author … But I’m not complaining! I love writing, I really do.

      Thank you! I actually agree – it would be so interesting! But it would also need a very clever author.

      Like

  4. “Why not call myself a writer now?” I really love that!

    As for #3 That is spot on! I love that! and ohhhh Procrastination…A time consuming monster I know well and OH MY GOODNESS! Another early riser! (I wake up at 4AM to write haha ) and I LOVE your writing space by the way 😉

    and Good O’l NaNoWriMo. 🙂 Love it so much!

    and Cheers for Tolkien! Such an amazing writer!

    (I did this tag too! Tons of fun, that!)

    Like

      1. Yes, yes it is. Anything that takes away from writing is a monster really 😛 Well…almost anything. And they really are because I have from 4 until 8 every day! Then sometimes time to write in the evening as well and it is wonderful!!

        Like

Leave a Reply

