Writing Wishlist

 

ww

I found these writing wishlists from here, here, and here (Kara started it! :)). I have so many writing ideas and it looked like a lot of fun, so voila! I made my own. A writing wishlist is like a Christmas wishlist but instead of dream presents, you write novels/stories you would like to write.

I’ve got a lot of wishes – too many to complete any time soon, but a girl can dream …

1. Shopaholic

It’s about a woman who is (predictably) a shopaholic. It’s partially told by shopping lists.

2. Troll

I want to write from the point of view of an internet troll.

3. My Technological Lover

I wrote a little about this one for Beautiful Books #1. It’s about a girl who falls in love with Siri and has an annoying jock brother.

4. I Crashed My Friends

This is a very … reflective story? I don’t know how to call it. Martin crashes his three friends in his car and struggles to pick up the pieces, continue his life, and find reconciliation with his friends’ bereaved parents.

5. Mystery story

I’d love to write a good mystery, particularly with intense psychology. It would be cool to write where the main character/one of the main characters is the culprit.

6. Romance

I love a good romance and I’ve probably had the most reading experience with it. It would be fun to write one. 🙂 I have some ideas, such as one where a woman picks up a guy at the bar and havoc ensues and another where a girl asks a shy stranger on the bus out (and he’s kinda stuck to his phone, playing Dots). Hmm, I see a bit of a pattern.

7. Matchmaker

A girl tries to match make all the students in her class but they end up choosing radically different boyfriends/girlfriends from who she pairs them with. This is a pretty fluffy, funny story and it’ll be a blast to write.

8. A pirate/sailor story

Because … the sea! Sailing! Water!

9. A music and teenagers contemporary

A group of teenagers meet through music, which is sort of the cohesive that bonds them together through hard times.

10. Switcheroo

I know it’s a totally cliched idea but these three characters walked into my head and I LOVE them – a famous and fairly spoiled but adorable actress, her punk rock star brother, and the poor girl (who’s a classical musician) taking her place.

11. A horror story

Because I’m suddenly really interested in being scared.

12. Vampire/werewolf father

A vampire/werewolf poses as a benign, clumsy father, when he is really a cold and calculating man. It’ll be told from the POV of his “kids” or “wife”, maybe.

13. Button City

I have no reason to write this story (that doesn’t have a plot) except that I like the title Button City and I’ve got the idea that the protagonist is called Cyrus and I love the guy. He’s … introverted, insensitive, and very Cyrus.

14. Red Telephone

A man, newly released from prison, struggles to put his life back together and mend his relationship with his girlfriend and their child.

15. Winteria/Aestasia fantasy

This is MG and I love my world, divided by winter and summer. The romance is adorable and the mixed kids start autumn and spring, of course.

16. Mathbook fantasy

People fall into a mathbook and must keep all their wits about them to survive. They battle evil square roots and pair with the integers to save the world … stuff like that, you know …

17. New Singapore

Dystopian Singapore. Now that would be cool.

18. Twelve dancing princesses retelling

When I read twelve dancing princesses, I’m always struck by the mystery of the place the princesses go. Their secret is found out … then what? They just stop going? What’s that world they went to? Why is there a portal in their room? Surely they wouldn’t just abandon it once they were found and surely the king would be curious. There’s so much potential.

19. Shakespeare retelling

I might do King Lear (my fav Shakespeare play).

20. Crazy taxi driver

Inspired by B.D. Joe. Can you imagine?

BD_Joe_and_his_Crazy_Taxi

So, hmm … twenty novels to write. I still have my three WIPs. I’d better get writing!

(I’m working on World Warriors now and it’s a blast to write. Everyone’s clashing delightfully with everyone else.)

10 thoughts on “Writing Wishlist

  1. Thanks so much for participating in this! 😀 I love reading other people’s lists. And talking about lists, I think it would be pretty awesome to read a novel partially told in shopping lists; I’d buy that book in a heartbeat. (In case you haven’t realized, yes, I’m a big fan of lists. 😉 ) I love that you’d want to write a mystery novel, too. They are SO much fun. I’ve only written one so far but I definitely plan another in the future. The intense psychology would be very interesting to read/write.

    You have some really great ideas here. 😀 Hope you get to write them!

    (By the way, if you’re interested you can add your link to my linky to the original Writing Wishlist page so more people can see it. ^_^ https://diaryofateenwriter.wordpress.com/2014/12/10/writerly-post-wednesday-writing-wishlist/ Just scroll to the bottom and it will be there. 🙂 )

    Like

  2. OKAY EVERYTHING MUST STOP UNTIL YOU’VE WRITTEN THE 12 DANCING PRINCESS RETELLING. Omg, how awesome would that be?? There are SO many underdone fairy tales out there that need to be retold. enough of Red Riding hood and Cinderella. 😉
    In short I love so many on your list. *grabby hands for most of them* WRITE WRITE!

    Like

  3. The werewolf/father idea sticks out at me way more than anything else… I’d LOVE that, and it sounds awesome. Like, I can’t even put into words how awesome or scary or fascinating you could make that. SO MANY DIRECTIONS. I hope you get to write all these things eventually, but especially that one!

    Like

  4. These sound really interesting! I like “Shopaholic” – it’s always interesting when authors do something a bit experimental with their form. “Button City” is a great title – I’d definitely pick that off the shelf! And I would love to read “Mathbook Fantasy”.

    So many great ideas! Can’t wait to see what you come up with.

    Like

    1. Thanks! The credit of Button City goes to my little brother – he either came up with the title or gave the inspiration. It’s been so long, I don’t remember. The Mathbook fantasy idea came, predictably, while I was doing algebra and it gave me some motivation!

      Like

Leave a Reply

