You Can Only Pick One!

Erm ... I've got no idea what this is.
Erm … I’ve got no idea what this is.

If you could only read one genre in your life, what would it be?

This question isn’t hard for me to answer. I’d choose historical. Okay, I love spec(ulative) fic. But most of my favorite books are historical (Les Mis, The Robe, The Scarlet Pimpernel, A Tale of Two Cities, etc.) and I can only imagine my future favorite books will include mostly historicals too.

Although in saying historical, I am generally referring to books that could have been considered contemporary during the author’s lifetime. I don’t really know what else to call these, except classics.

That said, I’m glad I get to read my spec fic!

If you could only write one genre in your life, what would it be?

Well, now I’ll choose spec fic. As much as I like to read historicals, writing one requires an enormous amount of research, and I just don’t have the patience. And somehow my contemporaries never seem to work out. But I think there’s another factor at play. I like to write stories on a grand scale. There’s war. There’s government and monarchy. There’s a worldwide mission. There’s a new race of people. So, yeah, there’s such a thing as creative license but I can’t help taking it too far!

If I had to be even more specific, I’d choose fantasy because the story I’m writing now is fantasy and if I could only ever write one story, it would be this one.

What would you choose?

 

4 thoughts on “You Can Only Pick One!

  1. If I could read one genre it would probably be humor with a dash of thriller (I know am cheating). And if I could write one genre it would be fantasy just because you can let your mind travel as far as you want and no one can question you for it.So there!

    Like

  2. Ahhh! That is a horrible mean question. >_< It's like asking what your top favourite book is. <– That question is just impossible. Ah…I guess I'd say urban-fantasy/paranormal. Most of my favourite books come out of there. But I do so love my contemporaries and dystopian.

    Thanks for stopping by @ Notebook Sisters!

    Like

Leave a Reply

