My Writing Life

image

I’m conducting an interview of myself so if you’d like to get to know me better, read on.

Why do you write? The old adage … I write because I do. I can’t even say I enjoy it. Sure, I enjoy writing most of the time. But I want to write even when I don’t enjoy it. Writing comes so naturally for me. It’s not that I’m good at it. I just don’t want to not write. 

Through writing, I can explore the world. It’s like reading – if you don’t read, you’ve only lived one life. If you read, you can live thousands. But when it’s you who writes the story, you are in control. It’s like you really are living the life, exploring the world, having an adventure. 

Writing helps me express my thoughts more clearly and make sense of them. When I don’t write, I get so confused.

Writing is carthatic, and helps me deal with my pain.

I write because sometimes I get story ideas that “walk” into my head, so to speak, and they are screaming to be written. 

You know what? Sometimes I feel the urge to write but I have nothing to write. So I just write a jumble of stuff. 

What do you write? Anything, really. Okay, I’ll be more specific. I write fiction – speculative, contemporary, and historical. I write short stories, novellas, and novels. I write poetry, although I’ve been on a looong hiatus from it. I write songs. I write plays. I write blog posts. I write essays. I write gibberish. 

Where do you write? Anywhere. My dad says that nothing will stop me from writing. I write in the weirdest places, using my hands to support the paper so I can get the words on. I’ve written on cardboard boxes and napkins before. But my ideal writing place is probably my bed. It’s soft, cozy, and quiet. I also write on the floor and the sofa. Tables … nah. They give me neck and leg aches. I’d like to write in a tavern one day, though, just to find out if it really is conducive to my writing. 

When do you write? I think you know the answer to this question. I truly do write anytime, except for in the middle of the night. 

How do you write? Sometimes I get an idea and develop it in my head, composing phrases, then I transcribe it onto paper. Other times, I have a blank sheet of paper (or document) and pour out the words. 

“Pour out” makes it sound like I write quickly. I don’t, not unless I already know exactly what I want to write and that is rare. I don’t think very quickly, so writing can be a laboriously long process. But I love it anyway. 

Feel free to answer the questions on your own blog or in the comments. 

3 thoughts on “My Writing Life

Leave a Reply

